Confessions of a Pinterest addict

I remember the first time I heard about Pinterest. It was about a month into freshman year at an Ag Ambassadors get-to-know-you social. Our advisor and one of the older members were talking about this awesome new website with all kinds of ideas for food and crafts and everything else under the sun. Of course, I had to go home and check it out, and I put my name on the waiting list for an account that night.

This was the most amazing thing that I have ever experienced. I felt like a kid in a candy store looking at all of the pins, and I’m pretty sure that not a day has passed since then that I haven’t spent a while browsing Pinterest.

Confession #1: I’m not actually an addict. Well, not when you compare my profile to that of many others. I don’t have a ton of pins or boards either one when you put it beside some people who have 20,000 pins. But I think it’s just because I only pin things that I think are truly impressive or funny or possible for me to accomplish. Otherwise, I just arbitrarily browse. And sometimes instead of pinning something, I will just screenshot it on my phone or write it down instead. I feel like that defeats the purpose of having a profile, but I do strange things sometimes. If you ask a couple of my friends, they will say that I am on Pinterest more than anyone they know. Maybe that’s true; maybe not. I do know, however, that Pinterest is definitely a broke college kid’s best friend.

Confession #2: I use Pinterest as a way to window shop without having to use the gas to go to the store. Who doesn’t love window shopping? I know that it’s one of my favorite things to do, especially since I have more of a Goodwill or Savers type budget. The problem is, I don’t exactly have the gas money to go to the store all the time. Enter my online mecca of clothes, crafts and home décor. I know that I will never have about 98 percent of the things I pin, but it’s fun to dream. My Pinterest home is beautiful, my Pinterest closet is full of super cute clothes and shoes, and my Pinterest craft room has everything one could ever need. However, I can’t tell you how excited I get when I already have the supplies to finish a craft, the pieces to create an outfit or the hidden ability to reproduce a hairstyle. It’s also pretty exciting when I find something at the thrift shop that is similar to what I’ve pinned.

Confession #3: I get most of my jokes from Pinterest. I have spent many hours scrolling through the humor section, and I have never been disappointed by what it has to offer. I love ecards almost as much as I love Bitsy, and that’s a lot. When I say I have one for every situation saved to my phone’s camera roll, I’m not joking. Just about everything that pops up on iFunny, I have already seen on Pinterest, so that app isn’t very entertaining for me.

I could honestly go on and on about how much I love Pinterest, but that would probably not be very interesting to read. Just know that it is one of the most constant things in my life. It never lets me down, never makes me cry. Pinterest understands and that’s why it’s one of my best friends.

^I wasn’t kidding about having an ecard for every situation on my phone…this was one of the first ones I came across just now.

Leave a Reply

