Flossing

While I was trying to figure out what to write about in my first ever blog post, something in me decided to examine Bitsy’s teeth. I noticed that there was some gross stuff in between some of them, so I decided to floss my 5 pound dachshund’s teeth for her.

I don’t know how often people floss their dogs teeth or if it should ever be done or if it is even safe, but this is the first time that I have ever done it myself. I should have known that it wouldn’t be the simplest of tasks, but I’m not going to just let it be. So, I got a little bit of floss, sat down on my bed and called Bitsy to me. Not knowing what she was about to go through, she hopped into my lap, as excited as ever. I flipped her over and opened up her mouth- and that was when she realized that I had decided to torture her tonight. I’m just going to throw it out there that I am so glad that I didn’t try to do this to a big dog because her tiny, deformed jaw was difficult enough to hold open, especially when she decided to try to clamp down, which proved to be rather painful. After a lot of coaxing, fussing and prying, I finally got the gross stuff out of my baby’s mouth and let her go. Now she has been pouting on the floor and doesn’t seem to want to cuddle like she normally does.

It’s crazy how something like flossing my dog’s teeth could make me think about how life has been going the last few months. I’ve been trying to get the gunk out of my life and it has definitely taken a lot of prying and coaxing, along with the occasional near-breakdown. With the difficulties that life can sometimes bring, you just have to hold out and get through it, and watch out that you don’t get “bitten” along the way. Eventually, the “gross stuff” will go away.

In no longer than it took me to type that last paragraph, Bitsy got over her hurt pride and is back in my lap where she belongs. On a side note, if you ever decide to venture into DIY canine dentistry, I would suggest having a helper to hold the dog’s mouth open.

Leave a Reply

